Fridays Lunch

I have not been able to find a reliable source for farm raised chicken in the area, so this chicken was store bought. It was on sale for less than $6.00 for 8 chicken thighs. This was a good deal as I was able to make this stretch into 6 meals. That is less than a $1.00 per meal. So although ethically I feel bad for these poor chickens I did get a good deal.

 

Image

 

  • Curried Chicken Salad over baby spinach
  • Carrots and tomatoes with cheese wedges
  • Pears with a sprinkle of coriander
  • Dried apricots stuffed with goat cheese and slivered almonds

Shopping List

  • Chicken
  • celery
  • scallions
  • raisins
  • cilantro
  • honey
  • curry powder
  • salt and pepper
  • carrots
  • grape tomatoes
  • cheese
  • dried apricots
  • goat cheese
  • slivered almonds
  • pears
  • ground corriander

The shopping list is a little long, but hopefully you have some of this in your pantry…and if you don’t, lets stock up your pantry!

4 thoughts on “Fridays Lunch

  1. Hi there, after over a year of telling docs that something was wrong with my body I have finally been diagnosed with PCOS. I discovered your blog and I am interested in this chicken dish, would you have the recipe for the chicken?

    • Being diagnosed with pcos is the beginning of a new journey to learn more about yourself and your life. Welcome!

      To make the chicken salad:
      1. cut up the cooked chicken into bite sized chunks
      2. chop 1 stalk celery and 2 scallions and add it to the chicken
      3. put in 1/4 cup raisins, 1 tbs of honey, 1 tsp of curry powder and 1 tbs of mayo
      4. mix well and season to taste. Add cilantro at the very end if you want.

      I hope this helps and thank you for your support and interest.

  2. Hi – Just want to say, I love this page, very inspirational, can you add some more ideas, they are awesome, also wondered how big your Bento box is, dimensions would be great 🙂

    • Hi
      The bento is 4.5 inches x 7 inches x 4.2 inches. I bought it on amazon, you can find it here. I am currently a mom to a toddler, a full time grad student and a teacher and I find that I don’t quite have the time to post as often…or at all lately. With the new year I am going to try to commit to posting every once and awhile to continue to help people find new ideas. Thanks so much for your support and interest!

Leave a comment